Day 4 – It’s Only 5 Seconds…

Today, I completed Workout C, Phase 1 from Craig Ballantyne’s Turbulence Training “15 Pounds of Muscle in 8 Weeks” program.  This workout is an Upper Body Dominant workout. While the bulk of the exercises are Back & Shoulder focused, the Chest, Biceps & Triceps also get some action as well.  I’m thankful this workout is Upper Body dominant because my Glutes (butt muscles) are still a little sore from Tuesday!

While the entire workout was challenging, two exercises stand out above the rest.

1.The last exercise of the workout kicked my ass!

Say hello to Incline Dumbbell Curls:

Screen shot 2013-01-10 at 5.44.08 PM

If done with proper form, this exercise will absolutely destroy your biceps.  It doesn’t take much weight to get the job done, either.  For as much of an ass-kicker as Incline DB Curls were, they weren’t nearly as tough as the first exercise I endured today.

2. Pull Ups with 5 Second “Negative” absolutely owned me today.  Not familiar with the concept of “negatives”?  Here’s a brief description:

Negatives: Get your chin above the bar and then lower yourself back down until your arms are straight, attempting to keep control of your body at all times. Generally, negatives are 5-10 seconds in length.

It’s as if some sicko sat down and said, “Pull ups aren’t difficult enough to master, let’s make them even more difficult.”

This isn’t my first experience with negatives but it has been awhile since I’ve done them.  I could tell after the first couple that today was going to be a challenge.  I knew I was going to have to dig down deep & grit it out.  For 46 minutes & 10 seconds, that’s exactly what I did.

I’ve also stayed on target today with my meal plans.  Each day the junk food looks less appealing.

Food = Fuel

You wouldn’t put low grade gasoline in a Ferrari would you?  My intention is to build a “Ferrari” body so I must fuel it as such.

Leave a Reply

