Day 5 – Who’s Your Coach?

An off day from the gym.  Although not a lifting day, I will still do a bit of light cardio & yoga this evening.

I will also begin working on mapping out the upcoming week.  By Sunday morning, I will have done the following:

  1. Week #2 meal plans will be completed
  2. Grocery list will be completed
  3. Workout logs (already printed) will be in the weight room
  4. Weigh-in & body fat measurements will occur first thing Sunday morning
  5. Progress Updates posted at Transformation Contest website
  6. Daily blog posting

“Success mapping” is what I call the above exercise.  You wouldn’t take a trip across the country without a plan & a map would you?  How then do you expect to build the body of your dreams if you don’t plan it out & then chart your course?

More importantly, how can you truly build the body of your dreams if you don’t have a coach/mentor to take you by the hand & lead you to the Promised Land?

When I completed my first body transformation, I worked with a coach.  I mentioned this in a previous post but I would like to go back & revisit the topic for a moment.

This is the photo my coach is best known for:

Image

 (Photo Courtesy of RomanFitnessSystems.com)

Yep, he’s put together quite nicely.  And no, I don’t look like that (yet).

The picture of Roman told me something about him.  Not only could he talk the talk, he walked the walk.  When the opportunity presented itself, I applied for & was accepted as a coaching client.  It has been one of the best investments in myself that I have ever made.

Working one-on-one with Roman was an awesome experience.

After my initial assessment, the ball started rolling.  Each month I received a custom set of workouts & meal plans.  Keep in mind, Roman is based out of New York City & I live in Central Illinois.  We communicated via the internet but for the most part I was on my own when it came to working out & preparing meals.  For the next 6 months I followed my coaching program & put everything I had into it.

Once my 6 month program wrapped up, I looked & felt better than I had in what seemed life forever.

Front View April 2012-Nov2012

 

Hey, that’s me! 

Then something strange happened.  I slacked off.  6 days a week in the weight room turned into 3-4 days a week, if that.  I began to make poor food choices more often.  My abs started disappearing around Thanksgiving.  Panic began to set in.  6 months of hard work & dedication was eroding away right before my eyes.

So I kicked it back in gear at the beginning of December.  I picked my favorite workouts from my coaching program, dusted off my meal plans & got serious again (kinda).

But something was missing….  

For awhile I couldn’t figure out what the problem was.  Where was the intensity?  Then one day it hit me.  I was no longer accountable to anyone other than myself.

See, when I worked with Roman, I had to send him a progress update every 2 weeks.  I desired nothing more than to make my coach proud. So I had no other option but to put forth my best effort each day.  Plus I was paying a monthly fee for the training so I figured I had better get my money’s worth!

But now, I was no longer required to send progress updates to anyone. I needed a new coach.  If not a new coach, at least something where I had to be accountable.

As fate would have it, my prayer was answered the same day.  I received an email from Craig Ballantyne announcing an upcoming transformation contest.

Meet Craig.

craig-3-100

(Photo Courtesy of TurbulenceTraining.com)

Sure looks like he knows what he is doing.  I’ve read his stuff for the last year or 2 & have found him to be a very knowledgable.

When I received the email, I immediately got to work on preparing for the 90 day contest period.  My intention was to take a day or two everything ready (workout logs, meal plans, pictures, etc.) & then enter the contest.

So, I purchased/downloaded one of Craig’s programs.  Truth be told, I didn’t even have to buy a program.  He gives away a bunch of free workouts at his website & has TONS of videos on YouTube.  Plus, the contest was FREE to enter.

But, it has been my experience that if I have paid for something, I value it a bit more.  Plus, the program I selected addressed my desire to gain as much muscle possible in a short period of time so I believed it to be a worthwhile investment.

I got to work on my meal plans & within a day I had a weeks worth entered into my meal planner spreadsheet & printed off.  The grocery list was written out & off to the store I went.

So now I am entered into a body transformation contest with a $15,000 top prize.  This gives me a higher purpose than just “getting into shape”.

Although I am not working with Craig in a one-on-one capacity, in essence I now have a new coach.  I am using his program & asking him questions on Facebook regarding the program.  I am being lead back up the mountain by Craig.

I have also created this blog & told everyone I know about it.  Now I have many sets of eyes upon me.  I’ve publicly declared my goal & now it’s time to put up or shut up.  I now have others to hold me accountable.

So I ask you, Who’s Your Coach?  Who are you listening to on a daily basis?  More importantly, where will the advice they are offering ultimately take you?

Leave a Reply

