Day 11 – The Wisdom of Master Yoda

Today, I completed Workout C, Phase 1 from Craig Ballantyne’s Turbulence Training “15 Pounds of Muscle in 8 Weeks” program.  This workout is an Upper Body Dominant workout. While the bulk of the exercises are Back & Shoulder focused, the Chest, Biceps & Triceps also get some action as well.

After reading the title of today’s post, you might be asking yourself, “What in the world does Yoda have to do with weight lifting?”

First, I assume you are familiar with Jedi Master Yoda:

MV5BNDIwNjM4Nzk0NF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMDcxMTY2Mw@@._V1._SX100_SY140_

 

This little green guy has an interesting perspective on life & many of his quotes are worth dwelling upon & contemplating.  A particular quote from our little green friend is germane to this blog post.  Here it is:

“…But beware of the dark side. Anger, fear, aggression; the dark side of the Force are they. Easily they flow, quick to join you in a fight. If once you start down the dark path, forever will it dominate your destiny, consume you it will…”

Today at work, I was informed of a few things that I let anger me.  My anger quickly turned to fear when I realized the scope of the tasks that would now comprise my newly assigned duties.  The fear then lead back to anger which quickly turned into aggression.  I found myself cursing, slamming desk drawers, throwing things & generally copping a terrible attitude.  These negative actions flowed easily & were quick to join into the fight.

I carried this attitude home with me & into the weight room.  My warm-up sucked & I was ready to quit.  So I slammed a few things around and mumbled a few more bad words.  Too much aggression. 

Normally I would say that a little aggression in the weight room is a good thing.  Sometimes a little extra steam can help me ratchet up the intensity.  But not today.  Nope, I had started down the dark path & if I didn’t get my mind right quickly things would only get worse.

So what did I do?  I thought of another quote from Yoda:

“When you look at the dark side, careful you must be … for the dark side looks back.”

And it hit me, what was going on inside of my mind was manifesting itself in my reality.  I was looking at the dark side of things & “dark” things were clouding my thinking.  Right then & there I decided that I would leave the work baloney in the past & instead focus on the task at hand.

Guess what happened?  I had one of the best workouts I’ve had in a LONG time.  The intensity was off the charts.  My focus was laser-like & my resolve to push hard was strong.  Who would have thought that a little green muppet would have such a profound effect?

Today’s workout track listing:

  • Twist of Cain – Danzig
  • Bohemian Rhapsody – Queen
  • All I Know – Screaming Trees
  • Back For More – Ratt
  • Dead and Bloated – Stone Temple Pilots
  • Du Oder Ich – Megaherz
  • Slave to the Grind – Skid Row
  • Trampled Under Foot – Led Zeppelin
  • Everybody Wants Some – Van Halen
  • The Song Remains the Same – Led Zeppelin
  • Wake Up – Rage Against the Machine

Not sure what the iPod had in mind today as the tracks were all over the board.  Metal, Rock, Grunge, German Metal, Classic Rock, Hair Metal.

Leave a Reply

