Day 12 – It’s Not Just A Food Journal….

Today is an off day from the gym.  As I’ve described in previous posts, I will engage in some light cardio & perform some yoga as well.  Plus, it is Friday night so this will be a short post.

I’ve stayed on track with my meal plans.  It is so much easier to stay on track with a daily food journal of some sort.  Fortunately I am handy with Microsoft Excel.  I’ve designed custom spreadsheets that enable me to calculate my Daily Caloric Intake as well as my Micronutrient Breakdowns: Carb, Protein & Fat Intake in Grams & Calories.

I created these spreadsheets a few years ago & they are what help me stay on track.  If I stick to eating the foods listed on my daily plan & only those foods, I’m sure to succeed with my fitness goals.  It takes the guesswork out of the entire process.

Food journals are also useful in Writing Out Your Grocery List.  This may seem like an elementary thing to do yet it is vital to one’s success & shouldn’t be overlooked or taken lightly.

Here are a few benefits of making a grocery list:

  • Reduce the time spent in the store because you have a plan
  • Ensures you will have all needed food for the upcoming week
  • Reinforces the importance of the need to stay disciplined in your approach to fitness

Taking a few minutes each day to plan the next day’s eating & then adhering to that plan is the key to success!

Leave a Reply

