Day 13 – 30 Seconds? Victory!

First thing this morning, I completed Workout D, Phase 1 from Craig Ballantyne’s Turbulence Training “15 Pounds of Muscle in 8 Weeks” program.  What a great way to start the day!

This workout is a bit different from the previous 3 workouts from Phase 1.

As noted in a previous post, this workout begins with Dumbbell Goblet Squats & then transitions into a series of Bodyweight Exercises performed in rapid succession with as little rest as possible between exercises & circuits.

My goal for the day: Ramp up the intensity from last session.

I’m happy to report that I was successful!!  So how did I accomplish my goal?  Taking shorter rest periods between circuits & virtually no rest between exercises within each circuit did the trick.

I ended up shaving 30 seconds off of my time from last session.  While that does not seem like much, keep in mind that is the typical rest period I use between circuits.  In essence, I eliminated a rest period today.  And I sure noticed it!

Although today’s workout lasted less than 20 minutes, I can honestly say that I did not feel cheated in the least!  Completing 3 BW Circuits in as little time as possible was a challenge.  And now I have set the bar for next week.  Will I be able to best my time from this week?  I don’t know but you can bet that I am going to give it my absolute best effort!

Today’s Workout Track Listing:

  • Killer of Giants – Ozzy Osbourne
  • Prison Sex – Tool
  • Karate – Tenacious D
  • Jambi – Tool
  • Fight Fire With Fire -Metallica

I think the iPod was just getting ready to unleash a nice stream of tunes & then I confused it by hitting pause.  Of all of my “toys”, I think I love my iPod almost as much as my guitar.  Give me the ability to create or listen to music & I’m in heaven.

160GB iPod Classic:

IPod_classic_6G_black_new_interface-2007-09-15

Washburn N2 Nuno Bettencourt model:

washburn.washburnn2

Leave a Reply

