Day 15 – Progressive Overload = Progress

I got in another great workout today! Today, I completed Workout A, Phase 1 From Craig Ballantyne’s Turbulence Training “15 Pounds of Muscle in 8 Weeks program.   As previously stated, this workout consists of Chest/Back supersets.  We’re talking a chest press of some sort followed by a rowing exercise.

Today marked the third time I have completed this particular workout.  My aim for today was to increase my working weight loads from last workout whenever possible.  I was able to do so on a couple of exercises.  I had noted on my workout log from last week to increase the weight on these particular exercises so that’s what I did.  Most times the increase is either 2.5 or 5 pounds, depending on the lift.  Nothing major but it is something.

This concept is commonly referred to as Progressive Overload:

“This principal refers to continually increasing the demands on the musculoskeletal system in order to continually make gains in muscle size, strength and endurance. In simplest terms – In order to get bigger and stronger you must continually lift more and more and make your muscles work harder than they are used to. If you don’t, your muscles will not become any stronger or bigger than they currently are.”  (Bodybuilding.com)

So while a small increase in weight might not seem like much at first, over time the net effect is a larger, stronger muscle.  Granted, at some point with any exercise a practical maximum weight will be encountered, if for nothing more than safety reasons!

On the exercises where I kept the weight load the same as last time: I did so to be able to hit my desired rep range & still be able to maintain proper form.  On these exercises I went for an extra rep or 2.  If I was able to do the extra reps, each set & with proper form, I  noted that I should increase the weight next time.  I would rather squeeze out an extra rep or two with a weight I can control than be sloppy for half my reps with a heavier weight.

For the Bodyweight Inverted Rows, I put my feet up on the bench to increase the intensity. I also lowered myself a bit more slowly & then I exploded up more so than last workout.  I also aimed to get at least 1 more rep each set than last time.  I was able to hit my mark today.

Today, as with each weight room session, I looked for signs of progress.  I observed them in a few different ways:

  • Upped my working weight by 5 pounds on a few lifts
  • Increased intensity & number of reps completed for Inverted Rows
  • Did a few more reps each set for “same weight” exercises, will increase weight for those exercises next workout

Progress, whether large or small is what I am after on a daily basis.

Today’s workout track listing:

  • The Rover – Led Zeppelin
  • No Excuses – Alice in Chains
  • Death’s Head – Slayer
  • Blackout – Scorpions
  • Whipping Post – Allman Brothers
  • Into the Cover – Mercyful Fate
  • Whale and Wasp – Alice in Chains
  • Animal – Pearl Jam
  • Junkhead – Alice in Chains
  • Call Me a Dog – Temple of The Dog

 

Leave a Reply

