Day 17 – Something’s Better Than Nothing

Today, I completed a truncated version of Workout B, Phase 1 from Craig Ballantyne’s Turbulence Training “15 Pounds of Muscle in 8 Weeks” program.

I have been battling a touch of the flu the last few days so I wasn’t sure if I would be able to do much, if anything in the weight room.  I did my warm-up routine & knew that I wasn’t going to have enough in the tank to complete the entire workout.  I made the decision right then to focus mainly on the deadlift portion of the workout today.

Here’s a great explanation of how to properly do the Deadlift:

Deadlifts-1

 

(Photo Courtesy of TheArtofManliness.com)

Why did I focus on the toughest lift today & make it the priority?  The deadlift gives me more “bang for the buck” than almost any other exercise I know of.  It is a total body builder.  Heavy, compound exercises seem to be terrific muscle builders.  So, I made it a point to focus on the big lift & put all that I had into it.

I did what I was able to do & once I was spent, I was finished for the day.  It may have have only been 20 minutes but I made the most of it!

Today’s Workout Track Listing:

  • Sunshine – Alice in Chains
  • Take The Power Back -Rage Against the Machine
  • Black Star – Yngwie J Malmsteen
  • Losing All – Down
  • Show Me How to Live – Audioslave

 

 

Leave a Reply

