Day 19 – Strive For Perfection, Settle For Excellence

Today, I completed Workout C, Phase 1 from Craig Ballantyne’s Turbulence Training “15 Pounds of Muscle in 8 Weeks” program.  This workout is an Upper Body Dominant workout. While the bulk of the exercises are Back & Shoulder focused, the Chest, Biceps & Triceps also get some action as well.

I was home from work this morning for a couple of reasons (dead vehicle battery/waiting on replacement & garage window installation) so I decided to go ahead & get in my workout.  I felt better this morning than I had in a few days.  I decided to put the time & energy to good use & off I went.

I had a good session today.  This despite not having a “perfect” workout.  A perfect workout for me is getting all desired reps & sets without having to reduce working weight. In some instances I might even be able to increase the weight load after set #1 & still hit my desired rep counts.  More often than not, I am able to come very close to hitting the bullseye, so to speak.

bullseye-Picture-courtesy-ljworld.com_

But not today.  Today was more like hitting 6-7, with an 8 every now & then.  I will admit that I fatigued quicker on most lifts.  I also missed my desired rep mark by 1-2 on a couple of lifts as well.  Yet, I still felt a good “burn” in the muscle being worked each set (especially my shoulders-ouch!).  I also worked with a heavier load on a most lifts so I expected to come up short at some point.  I definitely consider today’s lifting session to have been productive despite not hitting each desired rep, each set.  Strive for perfection, settle for excellence.

I now have a new benchmark for next week.  Will I be able to get that extra rep or 2 on those exercises that I was “short” on today?  Strive for perfection, settle for excellence.

**Daily progress, whether large or small is the key to winning the race.**

As for nutrition, I’ve regained my appetite & have started off the day with a large amount of clean calories.  My intention is to stick to my meal plan for the day.  Strive for perfection, settle for excellence.

Speaking of meal plans, this whole concept of “perfection vs. excellence” can be applied to diet.  I set out to be 100% compliant with my daily meal plans.  This doesn’t always happen.  Sometimes I am very hungry & I might have a few more cashews, or a bigger portion of rice, etc.

Other days I might eat a tad less than I “should” simply because eating any more would make me feel stuffed.  Quick point: Food is fuel.  Analogy: Once your gas tank is full, you don’t pull the hose out & start pumping more gas in the back seat, do you?  Why would I keep shoveling food in my face if my stomach is full?  It makes no sense.

However, I am able to honestly say that I comply with my meal plans at least 90% or better on a daily basis.  That 10% is what I call reality.  Most of the time, when I do deviate from my meal plan, it is still a food choice that is acceptable.  But every now & then I will share a candy bar or ice cream with my family (1 or 2 times a month if that).  The “bad” calories are worth the time with them so I enjoy the experience rather than fret over a poor food choice.

Don’t get me wrong, my desire is to look my best & to build an incredible body.  I would love nothing more than to place in top 3 of this 90 day contest & get some exposure online.  Maybe turn that exposure into a full-time gig in the fitness world?  Who knows?

But I honestly believe that the difference between 90% & 100% in the kitchen is barely noticeable in the mirror.  80% & 100%, now that’s a different story.  I don’t have any real science to back that up but I do have my experience with my previous transformation as a reference.  Most days I am near 100% compliant.  But there will be a few where that doesn’t happen.  93% has to do every now & then.  Once again, I strive for perfection, settle for excellence.

**Daily progress, whether large or small is the key to winning the race.**

Resized_Grand_Am_Daytona_Jan_2008_Crossing_the_finish_line

(Photo Courtesy EuroMotorWorks.com)

Today’s workout track listing:

  • Losfer Words – Iron Maiden
  • Eruption – Van Halen
  • Night Flight – Led Zeppelin
  • Vietnow – Rage Against the Machine
  • Sin – Stone Temple Pilots
  • Sleep Now in the Fire – Rage Against the Machine
  • Hair of the Dog – Nazareth
  • I Alone – Live
  • Bark at the Moon – Ozzy Osbourne
  • Set the World Afire – Megadeth

Leave a Reply

