Day 22 – Antagonistic Supersets

Today, I completed Workout A, Phase 1 From Craig Ballantyne’s Turbulence Training “15 Pounds of Muscle in 8 Weeks program.   As previously stated, this workout consists of Chest/Back supersets.  Specifically, we’re dealing with Antagonistic Supersets.  They are referred to as antagonistic because in this instance opposing muscle groups are being worked within the same superset.

Here’s Superset #1 from today which consisted of:

A1) Incline Barbell Bench Press:

images-5

 

(Photo courtesy of gofitandhealthy.com)

Followed by A2) Single Arm Dumbbell Rows:

dumbbell-rowjpg-fd0622c97acefb6e

 

(Photo courtesy of NOLA.com)

For Superset #1: I completed exercise A1, rested for 30 seconds, completed exercise A2 &  then rested for 30-60 seconds.  I then repeated that same pattern two more times for a total of 3 sets within Superset #1.

After completing Superset #1, I then moved on to Superset #2 & finally #3.  These Supersets both started with a chest press of some sort followed by a rowing exercise.

**I must disclose that my definition of a “superset” is a bit different than the traditional version.  Many weightlifters believe that a true superset consists of multiple exercises performed in succession with no rest between exercises.  My definition is similar except that I sometimes utilize a short rest period between exercises.  Slight difference but worth noting.**

I really enjoy this particular workout.  While the majority of the exercises target the chest & back, the arms & shoulders definitely get a good amount of work as well.  I also like the push/pull dynamic within each superset.

These antagonistic superset workouts have become one my favorites.

Today’s Workout Track listing:

  • Would? – Alice in Chains
  • Nutshell – Alice In Chains
  • Cat Scratch Fever – Pantera
  • Regular People (Conceit) – Pantera
  • Not Going Away – Ozzy Osbourne
  • Without Me – Eminem
  • Whale & Wasp – Alice in Chains
  • Down in a Hole – Alice in Chains

I love Alice in Chains so I had no problems with the shuffle mix the iPod laid down today!

Leave a Reply

