Day 26 – Baby Giraffes

Today is a scheduled off day from the weight room.  As with my other “off” days, I will get in some yoga & ab/core work this evening.  After last evening’s workout, I am glad to have a day dedicated to recovery!  I can use it.

I do have to share something that I’ve done the last 2 days.

Yesterday I received a message from a friend.  She has recently hit a plateau in her fat loss efforts & needed some advice.  I suggested more resistance training & High Intensity Interval Training (HIIT) cardio sessions.  She said it sounded good & asked what that kind of a workout would look like.  So, I designed an Upper Body dominant, Antagonistic Superset workout followed by a HIIT session.  The response I received from her after the workout was great.  She had muscles twitching in areas that she hadn’t even realized she had worked!

I had the pleasure today of assisting this same friend again with her time in the weight room.  The message I received today basically asked if legs were to be worked since we focused on upper body work yesterday.  My response was Yes!

Lucky for her, I was on my break so I had some free time to put together another workout.  Today’s workout consisted of a Single Leg Forward Lunges, DB Squats, Hamstring Curls & Calf Raises followed by a HIIT session.  Granted, there were probably better exercises that could have been included.  But, I was doing this with about 10-15 minutes to spare so I went with an exercise for each major muscle group.

  • Lunges – Glutes (ladies, if you want a nice fanny, you need to be doing lunges)
  • Squats – Quadriceps
  • Hamstring Curls – Hamstrings (d’uh)
  • Calf Raises – Calves (no doy)

The response today was even better!  As she moved from the weight lifting portion to the cardio portion of the workout, she messaged me to tell me her legs were so fried that she wasn’t sure how well she would do on the elliptical.  She said when she walked it was like a baby giraffe taking their first steps.  So this is what I was seeing in my head:

2296770352_2a50a2e334

 

About 20 minutes later, I got another message that said she had completed the workout.  Bravo!  She said it was tough & that it challenged her but she was glad to have done it.

So, if you have hit a plateau in your fitness endeavors, shake things up a bit.  Seek out someone who can mentor you.  Follow fitness authors on social media sites for tips, etc. Read up on fat loss or muscle building (depending on your current goals).  Step outside your comfort zone!  You’ll be glad you did.

 

Leave a Reply

