Day 30 – Prisoners of the Mind

Today, I completed Workout B, Phase 2 from Craig Ballantyne’s “15 Pounds of Muscle in 8  Weeks” program.  This is Lower Body dominant workout.  Dominate my lower body it did!  My legs were a bit wobbly after I completed the last set of deadlifts for the day.

Another exercise that trashed my legs today was the Barbell Back Squat:

(Photo Courtesy of MensHealth.com)

(Photo Courtesy of MensHealth.com)

Normally, I will either do Barbell Front Squats or Dumbbell Goblet Squats when I do leg work.  For a number of reasons, I have resisted doing Barbell Back Squats for a long time.  You might recognize a few of these excuses:

  • The bar hurts my shoulders/neck  (towel wrapped around the bar fixed that issue)
  • Squatting hurts my knees (learned correct form = no knee pain)
  • I don’t really do much leg work (Why?)

I’m sure there were many other excuses I made that kept me from doing Back Squats.  But as you can see, I came up with a corrective action that made the excuse no longer valid.

What are excuses?  They are dream stealers.  They hold us back and keep us stuck in the mud.  They are a crutch for the weak.  Excuses are not for winners.

In short, excuses are how we verbalize the thoughts that comprise our “comfort zone”.

What is a comfort zone?  Besides being things we are familiar with, what is the comfort zone?

A comfort zone is a self-made prison cell that shackles the champion inside of all of us.

I believe that we all have a champion inside us. He/she is usually imprisoned in the mental prison cell we call our comfort zone. Do yourself a favor today and liberate the champion inside you by stepping outside of your comfort zone. After all, your comfort zone is determined by your thoughts and beliefs. You have the power to control your thoughts. You can change your beliefs.  You can become the person you dream of becoming.

But you must first liberate the champion within.  Jailbreak!

(Photo Courtesy of psx-scene.com)

(Photo Courtesy of psx-scene.com)

Today’s Workout Track Listing:

  • Into The Coven – Mercyful Fate
  • Sunshine -Alice in Chains
  • Foreclosure of a Dream – Megadeth
  • Keep Away – Godsmack
  • Doomsday Jesus – Black Label Society
  • (Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth – Metallica (RIP Cliff)
  • Fight Fire with Fire -Metallica

 

Leave a Reply

