Day 34 – Quit? What’s That?

Today, I completed Workout D, Phase 2 from Craig Ballantyne’s “15 Pounds of Muscle in 8 Weeks” program.  This was the most demanding of the 4 workouts that comprise Phase 2 of the program.  Even though this was the “shortest” of all 4 workouts, it was by far the most intense.

I started off with 3 sets of Dumbbell Goblet Split Squats:

(Courtesy serbagunamarine.com)

(Courtesy serbagunamarine.com)

Upon completion of the DB Goblet Split Squats, I then moved to the Bodyweight Portion of the workout.

8 Exercises, done in rapid-fire sequence, with as little rest as possible between exercises is the best way to describe this portion of the workout.  I did 3 of these 8-exercise circuits.

Each successive circuit took almost a minute longer to complete than the one before.  I was getting more & more fatigued with each exercise, each circuit.  The circuits were difficult & by then end I was wiped out!

Here are a few of the more challenging Bodyweight exercises from today’s session:

Pike Push-ups:

(Courtesy health.com)

(Courtesy health.com)

and Single Leg Squats (with bench):

(Courtesy spweightlossmd.com)

(Courtesy spweightlossmd.com)

I am an old pro at both of these exercises but it has been awhile since I’ve done either of them.  It was evident today, especially on the Single Leg Squats.  A combination of fatigue & lack of regular practice left me wobbling all over the place for a number of reps.

I caught myself getting a bit angry as a result.  What to do??

Rather than getting discouraged & quitting, I stayed with it, corrected my form & pounded them out.  While it wasn’t a “major” victory, it was a victory nonetheless.

Had I quit, I would have missed out on the muscle growth that I stimulated by doing the “tough” reps.  I tend to be more of a stimulate the muscle, not annihilate the muscle kind of guy.  But, if I am able to squeeze out another rep or 2 without going to complete musclar failure I will.  So that’s what I did today.

Had I quit, I also would have left the weight room with the knowledge of having not put forth my best effort.  That, more than anything, is why I chose to push on.

I have high standards when it comes to my time in the weight room.  I demand my best effort each time I step in that room.  Anyone who knows me knows what kind of work ethic I possess.  This work ethic is apparent in the weight room by the sweat, grimaces, grunts, groans, cuss words & fatigue that I exhibit while working out.

I also view my time in the weight room as an investment in my body.  My participation in this 90 day body transformation contest is part of that investment.  Should I be fortunate enough to place in the top 3, I will receive a monetary award as well as gain some exposure online.

The investment in my body, in turn, is an investment in my efforts to turn my passion for fitness into a living.  The sooner I can leave my job & do this kind of stuff full-time, the better.  My goal is to assist as many people as possible with getting into great shape.  It is my calling.

With that in mind, I also view my time in the weight room as in investment in the betterment of anyone who takes the time to read my blog posts.  I share my thoughts, exercise notes, etc. on this blog so that those who read my words will come away having been positively impacted.

This blog is the vehicle that will help me assist countless others reach their goals.  In doing so, I will also reach mine.

So you see, I can’t quit.  There is too much riding on this.  Not just for me but also for those who I am looking to assist.

Today’s Workout Track Listing:

  • Slave to the Grind – Skid Row
  • Trampled Under Foot – Led Zeppelin
  • Tales – Wolfmother
  • Sledgehammer – Peter Gabriel
  • Parabola – Tool
  • Regular John – Queens of the Stone Age
  • Out Ta Get Me – Guns ‘N Roses
  • The Prince – Metallica

Leave a Reply

