Day 41 – Sometimes It Gets Dirty

Today, I deviated from my regular Saturday routine.  I was scheduled to do Workout D, Phase 2 of Craig Ballantyne’s TT “15 Pounds of Muscle in 8 Weeks” program this morning.

This particular workout starts off with some squats & is then followed up with 3-4 Body Weight Circuits.  Each circuit consists of 8 different exercises.  It is a fantastic workout that incorporates elements of resistance training & cardio-based training.  I enjoy it & in some aspects have found it to be the most challenging of all workouts in the program.

But I have noticed that on my last few Sunday morning weigh-ins, the scale hasn’t been nudging upward as much as I would have expected.  Considering the increased caloric intake & workloads in the weight room, I should be gaining more muscle.

Part of that was due to the need to refine my diet.  This past week I have implemented some dietary changes so it may take another week or 2 for the effects to be noticeable.

Another reason I believe I may have been coming in a bit light the last few weeks is due to the effectiveness in the bodyweight circuits to burn fat.  This is not a complaint by any means.  Merely an observation.

So this morning, I decided to change things up a bit in the weight room & the kitchen to see what will happen when I weigh-in on Sunday.

A few things to keep in mind here:

  • I entered the weight room around 9 AM on a 14 hour fast.  
  • I had very few carbs yesterday.
  • I consumed a 2:1 Carb:Protein drink during my workout.

I decided to do a Push/Pull Antagonistic Superset workout that focused on the Upper Body.  The focus was on compound movements with a few isolation movements just to balance out the push/pull dynamic.  (There may have been better exercises to have used but I put this together in about 5 minutes so it probably could have been refined with more time.)

The goal for each exercise was 8-10 reps.  3 Sets of each exercise per super set.

First Superset:

A1) Close Grip Bench Press

A2) Inverted Bodyweight Rows (Overhand Grip)

Second Superset:

B1) Lumberjack Press

B2) Upright Barbell Rows

Third Superset:

C1) Alternating Dumbbell Bench Press

C2) Bent Over Dumbbell Row

Fourth Superset:

D1) Standing Barbell Shoulder Press

D2) Dumbbell Combo-Raises (Forward & Lateral)

Fifth Superset:

E1) Dumbbell Hammer Curl

E2) Barbell Curl

Total time for this workout, with rest periods & equipment changes was just under 55 minutes.  The curls weren’t necessary but I threw them in any way.

I definitely got a good upper body workout from this set of exercises today!  The workout drink definitely helped me get through the workout with enough energy.  But by the time I got out of the shower I was getting really hungry.

So after showering I headed out for a cheat meal at a Chinese buffet.

Right now I am attempting to put on as much mass as possible.  I have found it to be a challenge some days getting in enough clean calories to build mass.  I tend to be naturally lean so I have to fight to build size & even harder to retain it.

So every now & then, you have to get “dirty” when it comes to eating.  A massive caloric surplus is easier to do when you expand your food choices.

Plus, I had lifted fairly heavy in a fasted state so I had created a decent caloric surplus to start the day.  I needed a massive amount of calories & fast!!

Here’s the damage:

Trip #1:

Plates 1 & 2 2:16:13

 

Broccoli Beef, Vegetable Lo Mein, Sesame Chicken, Green Beans.

Finished off both plates.

Trip #2:

Plate 3 2:16:13

 

Broccoli Beef, Vegetable Lo Mein, Peanut Chicken.

Finished the entire plate.

Trip #3:

Plate 4 2:16:13

 

Chilled Shrimp, Broccoli Chicken.

The Broccoli Chicken sucked so I didn’t eat more than one bite.  Shrimp were good though.

Trip #4:

Plate 5 2:13:16

 

Broccoli Beef, Sesame Chicken, Peanut Chicken.

And of course, Dessert:

Dessert 2:16:13

 

Soft serve chocolate & vanilla swirl ice cream.

I honestly don’t know how many calories I consumed.  I went at the buffet with a big eating mindset because I had lifted an hour beforehand.  My body was primed to convert the majority of the calories into muscle glycogen at this point.  Especially considering that I had relatively few carbs yesterday.  My muscles soaked up the nutrients.

One thing you will notice is that on each plate there was a green vegetable of some sort.  In the one instance where I didn’t eat the broccoli, I ate only protein (shrimp) so that wasn’t too bad.  I made an effort to limit the damage.

But I also ate a bit dirty.  It’s ok though.  I will eat decent the rest of the day & for the next week as well.  But every now & then I like to dirty it up.

Today’s Workout Track Listing:

  • Searching With My Good Eye Closed – Soundgarden
  • The Bad Touch – Bloodhound Gang
  • Hate To Feel – Alice In Chains
  • Sunshine – Alice In Chains
  • My Jekyll Doesn’t Hide – Ozzy Osbourne
  • One In A Million – Guns ‘N Roses
  • Pass The Mic – The Beastie Boys
  • Peace Sells – Megadeth
  • No Good (Attack the Radical) – Pantera
  • Chop Suey! – System of A Down
  • Rock and Roll Angel – Heaven & Hell

 

One thought on “Day 41 – Sometimes It Gets Dirty

  1. Pingback: Day 42 – Moving In The Proper Direction | Jason's Body Transformation

Leave a Reply

