Day 44 – 100 Pounds Less Is 250 More Pounds?

Today, I completed a modified version of Workout B, Phase 2 from Craig Ballantyne’s “15 Pounds of Muscle in 8 Weeks” program.

As I stated in last Tuesday’s update, I like to keep the “spirit” of a workout the same as the author intended, even if I substitute exercises or modify things a bit.

I kept the spirit of this workout true to its original format by focusing on the Lower Body.  I basically stuck to two exercises today (just as I did last week).

First, I upped my working weight from last week on the Front Barbell Squat:

(Courtesy MensHealth.com)

(Courtesy MensHealth.com)

It was only a 5 pound increase but over 25 reps that equates to an additional 125 pounds lifted today versus last week!

Side note: In the above picture, the fitness model is squatting to parallel.  That’s ok for him I guess.  However, I tend to squat below parallel for a number of reasons.  I won’t go into them all right now (great article here) but just remember that squatting below parallel (if done properly & in a safe manner) has some benefits.

I did change things up this week on the Barbell Deadlift:

Rather than doing the 5 rep/5 set pattern as I did last week, I changed a couple of variables.  First, instead of doing 5 reps per set, I upped the number to 10 reps.  I also reduced my weight by 100 pounds from last week.

This might sound like I took a large step back from last week.  Maybe I did in a few aspects.  But, the increased rep count did make up the difference in one aspect. I ended up lifting 250 more pounds this week than last week.  Granted, it took more reps to get there but I got there.

All in all, I had a great workout today.  I hope you did/do too!

Today’s Workout Track Listing:

  • The Underdog – Spoon
  • Blood & Thunder – Mastadon
  • People of the Sun – Rage Against The Machine
  • Israel’s Son – Silverchair
  • Parasite – Anthrax
  • Custard Pie – Led Zeppelin
  • Long Time – Black Label Society
  • Sabbath Bloody Sabbath – Bruce Dickinson w/ Godspeed

Leave a Reply

