Day 46 – I’m Not A Lumberjack But….

Today, I completed Workout C, Phase 2, from Craig Ballantyne’s “15 Pounds of Muscle in 8 Weeks” program.  This is a great Upper Body workout!

I’m happy to report that I was able to make some measurable progress this evening.  For the majority of the lifts I performed this evening I was able to use a heavier weight than last week.

Here’s the rundown:

  • Close Grip Bench Press: +5 Pounds
  • Pull Ups: +3-4 Pounds (I weigh more this week, YES!!)
  • DB Hammer Curls: +5 Pounds
  • Barbell Curls: +5 Pounds
  • DB Skullcrushers: +2.5 Pounds 

But, there was one exercise that did not call for an increase in working weight.

What exercise am I talking about??

The Lumberjack Press:

Although I didn’t increase the weight used this week, I was able to pound out more reps.  That’s a sign of progress in my book!

I’ve written a great deal about the LJ Press in previous posts.  It is one of my favorite shoulder exercises.  Why?  Because it is a difficult exercise to perform correctly.  Balancing the bar while pressing it overhead is not an easy task.  An empty barbell can become a teeter-totter in no time at all.  Add weight to the bar & it is REALLY tough.

It took many sessions but I have finally gotten to the point where I have “mastered” the movement.  Now that I have the movement perfected, I can focus on adding weight to the bar.  Or increasing my rep count.  Or doing both.  Regardless of the method, from session to session I look for measurable signs of progress.

Don’t shy away from an exercise because it is “too hard”.  When I first encountered the LJ Press, it was a very humbling experience.  It was difficult & I had to use a light dumbbell instead of the barbell.  But over time I got better at the movement.  I also gained strength.  Now I look forward to the LJ Press.

If there’s an exercise you suck at & it’s getting the best of you, don’t give up.  Stick with it, get stronger & before you know it you’ll be a master at it!  What a great feeling!

Today’s Workout Track Listing:

  • Thumb – Kyuss
  • The God That Failed – Metallica
  • Albatross – Corrosion of Conformity
  • Meatplow – Stone Temple Pilots
  • Strutter – KISS
  • Ghosts of War – Slayer
  • Raining Blood – Slayer
  • The Sky is Fallin’ – Queens of the Stone Age
  • Fear – Heaven & Hell
  • Divinations – Mastadon

Leave a Reply

