Day 49 – Now I Know How A Yo-Yo Feels….

Today is an off day from the weight room.  I can use the rest & recovery before tackling the upcoming week.  I will be completing Phase 2 of my current program next Sunday.  I would like to finish up this phase as strong as possible. The resting today will help.

Being that this is Sunday, I had my weekly weigh-in.  How did I do??

This morning’s weigh-in was a failure in one aspect & a success in another.

Failure: Lean body mass increased very little this week.  I gained less than a pound of muscle.  I ate more food this week yet the gains were minimal.  Not good.  I am now well behind the pace I had hoped for.

I would be lying if I said this doesn’t bother me.  It does.  I’ve put in a great deal of effort in the weight room.  I’ve been diligent with my meal planning – hours have been spent planning, prepping & consuming meals.

It is frustrating to put in a great deal of effort for only a minimal amount of perceived progress in return.

The frustration came to a head when I stepped off the scale this morning & realized I was 1.5 pounds lighter today than I was last week.

This is a mass building program, I’m eating more food & I weigh less??  My attitude took a sudden downturn.  Then I sat down to run some numbers.  Begrudgingly, I might add.

Success: The 1.5 pound drop on the scale was actually a good thing, despite this being a mass building phase.  The 1.5 pounds was predominantly fat loss!  My body fat percentage was down 1/2 % this week due to this fat loss.  Plus, I gained a little bit of muscle in the process.

Bottom Line:  For the week, I was able to shed about 1.5 pounds of fat while gaining a little bit of muscle in the process.

Lesson Learned: Had I focused entirely on the scale & not taken body fat measurements, I would have felt like I had taken a big step back this week.  But in reality, I took a step forward this week.  Not a big step but it was something.

While I was looking over my numbers this morning, I also noticed a pattern that has developed over the last 7 weeks.  It seems that I tend to gain weight for 2 weeks, lose a bit the 3rd week & then the cycle repeats.  This pattern has held true this entire contest period.  Not sure why this is but I will figure it out.

Honestly, I would prefer not to be yo-yoing when it comes to my attempt at gaining muscle mass.  I would rather the gains be mostly clean & the scale to be nudging upward each week.  So, I will look back over the last 6 weeks & see where I could have been better.

Maybe I ate too little on my non-lifting days?  It’s possible.

Maybe I need to increase my caloric intake on lifting days?  Could be.

Maybe I should take in a little more carbs & back off the protein & fat a little bit?  More carbs on lifting days might be the key.

I have gained nearly 20 pounds of muscle since last June so maybe that is part of the issue?  Maybe the next 10-20 pounds are going to be tougher to come by?

It could be any one of the above things.  It could be all of the above things.  It could be something totally unrelated.  Whatever it is, I will figure it out & take the proper corrective actions to fix the issue(s).

 

Leave a Reply

