Day 50 – Until We Meet Again

Today, I completed Workout A, Phase 2 from Craig Ballantyne’s “15 Pounds of Muscle in 8 Weeks” program.    As noted in prior posts, this is an Upper Body Antagonistic Superset workout consisting of Presses & Rows.

I was a bit saddened today when I realized that I won’t be doing this particular workout next week.  Today marks the last week of Phase 2 of my current program.  I really enjoyed this particular workout over the last 4 weeks.  Although it is “only” Pressing & Rowing exercises, it is a fantastic workout!!

Incline Barbell Bench Press:

images-5

 

What a great way to target the upper chest!

Bent Over DB Rows:

A great back builder!  I like Barbell Rows but I find I tend to use better form when using dumbbells.

DB Fly Aways:

This exercise is best described as a mash-up between a DB Bench Press & a DB Fly.  If you click here, you can read all about it & even see a video of the exercise.  The guy in the video (Roman) just happens to be my former trainer.  It’s worth a peek.

Overhand Inverted Rows:

Notice the overhand grip.  Feet on bench is optional but I like the challenge so that’s how I roll.   This exercise is great for the back!

Alternating DB Bench Press:

(courtesy bodybuildingadvisor.net)

(courtesy bodybuildingadvisor.net)

A good description of this exercise may be found here.  Not only does this exercise blast the chest, the arms get blasted as well!!

Underhand Grip Inverted Row:

Notice the underhand grip.  (I go with feet on the bench for this exercise.)  Not only is this exercise great for the back but the arms get a great workout too!

So as you can see, although the workout is rather “basic”, there is a great deal of variety involved.

I’m going to miss this workout.  But, I have a feeling that a few months down the road this workout will make its way back into the rotation.

Today’s Workout Track Listing:

  • Zombie – The Cranberries
  • Cosmic Monsters Inc. – White Zombie
  • Sugar – System of a Down
  • Suicide & Redemption – Metallica
  • GD Electric – Pantera
  • Mandatory Suicide – Slayer
  • Freewill – Rush
  • Rocks – Primal Scream
  • Delivering the Goods – Skid Row with Rob Halford
  • Adrenalin – Eisbrecher

Leave a Reply

