Day 51 – The 300 Club

Today, I completed a modified version of Workout B, Phase 2 from Craig Ballantyne’s “15 Pounds of Muscle in 8 Weeks” program.

As I stated in last Tuesday’s update, I like to keep the “spirit” of a workout the same as the author intended, even if I substitute exercises or modify things a bit.

I kept the spirit of this workout true to its original format by focusing on the Lower Body.  I basically stuck to two exercises today (just as I did last week).

I started off the workout with Barbell Back Squats:

I love the fact that he is squatting below parallel.  He could probably lift his chin up a bit more but other than that he’s doing a great job.

After the squat portion of my workout was completed, I then moved on to good old

Deadlifts:

Yep, good old deadlifts.  Up until a few months ago, I had never attempted a deadlift.  I always shied away from the big compound lifts in favor of isolation type exercises.  In retrospect, that was rather silly & a waste of time.

When I first attempted a deadlift, it was ugly.  But as with all new things, the first few times are usually the toughest.  After awhile, it becomes less awkward.  You master the movement after numerous reps & sets.

That’s when the fun begins.

Once the movement has been perfected, you can then start to increase your working weight loads in greater quantities.  Strength gains & muscle growth tend to follow this increase in weight loads.  That has been the case for me anyway.  I’ve been feeling stronger lately as I have been able to increase my weight loads in the squat & deadlift.

So today, at the end of my workout, I decided I was going to do something I had never done before.

300 LBS Deadlift 2:26:13

 

That is 300 pounds (bar & weights).  I decided that tonight I would give it a shot & see if I could get at least 1 rep.  I wasn’t sure if I could do it as I had already done 5 sets of squats & 5 sets of deadlifts.

Now for some people, a 300 pound deadlift is nothing major.  But for me, this represents a “magic number” so to speak.  I’ve never lifted anything that heavy.

But I was determined that today I would.

I loaded the bar, stared it down & got into starting position.  I gripped the bar & before I knew it, I was standing upright with the bar in my hands.  I then lowered it to the floor.

I DID IT!  It was only rep but I established a new personal best in doing so.  What a fantastic feeling!  Now my new goal is 2 reps with 300 pounds.  Then 3, then 4, then 5…..

Today’s Workout Track Listing:

  • Astronomy – Metallica
  • Swamp Song – Tool
  • In My Tree – Pearl Jam
  • Immigrant Song – Led Zeppelin
  • Without Wings – Corrosion of Conformity
  • Rocker – AC/DC
  • Lucretia – Megadeth
  • The Red – Chevelle
  • Prayer – Disturbed
  • Heavy – Collective Soul (how fitting, this was playing when I deadlifted 300)

Leave a Reply

