Day 52 – The Hotter Your Desire Burns, The Stronger Your Discipline Will Be

Today is an off day from the weight room.  As with every “off” day, I will get in a yoga session this evening.  Oh how I love yoga!

Since I don’t have anything to report as far as a lifting session goes, I would like to share a thought.  Before doing so, here’s a little background for you.

For those who aren’t aware, I am a connoisseur of self-development materials.  I love reading books on the subject.  I especially enjoy audio programs.  If I were more wealthy, I would probably buy every single self-development product that Nightingale-Conant has to offer.  I firmly believe in feeding the mind with new concepts & am committed to continual growth.  If you aren’t growing, you’re shrinking.

So today, I offer this quote:

“Discipline is doing what’s hard & necessary rather than what’s fun & easy and doing it when it’s necessary, whether you feel like doing it or not.” – Brian Tracy

Can’t argue with that.  While this quote can be applied to nearly every area of life, it is very  germane to my current participation in the Early To Rise 90 day body transformation contest.

Some days there are things that I don’t necessarily feel like doing at the time.  Things like:

  • Saying no to donuts, sweet rolls & other desserts at work
  • Updating meal planner spreadsheets
  • Going to bed by 10 each night instead of staying up later
  • Deadlifts & squats (I love what they are doing for my body but they are HARD)
  • Avoiding other things that pop up during the day that if I were to choose them, would take me further away from my goal even though they are appealing at the time

This is a small sample of instances in which discipline is necessary.  I think we can all agree that the list above are things that will help get me closer to achieving my fitness goals.  So it should be a no-brainer to do them with no hesitation.  Yet some days it isn’t that easy.

That’s when discipline kicks in.

But what is that allows me to be disciplined more often than not? (Believe me, I’m not perfect but I’m getting better each day).

Desire is what makes discipline possible.  While that sinks in, I’ll take it a step further.

Your level of discipline directly correlates to the strength of your desire.  There’s no 2 ways about it.

If you are lukewarm in your desire, your efforts will be a great indicator of this fact.  You will lack the discipline necessary to do what you need to do, when necessary, regardless of the degree of difficulty.

But, if your desire is burning white-hot you will do what it takes, when it’s necessary, regardless of the price.

Are you coming up short in the pursuit of your goals?  Are you finding that you are easily distracted?  Do you find yourself making excuses instead of taking action?

If so, take a moment & ask yourself how much you truly desire what it is that you are pursuing.  If it means enough to you, you will find the necessary discipline! 

Leave a Reply

