Day 55 – 5 Weeks To Go

This morning I decided to put in about 45 minutes in the weight room.  The To Do List for the day was rather lengthy so I decided to get in & out of the weight room early.

As I have done the past few Saturdays, I designed a workout tailored to what I was “feeling” when I woke up in the morning.

I basically picked one lift for each of the following muscle groups:

  • Chest – Close Grip Bench Press 
  • Back – Underhand Grip Inverted Row
  • Shoulders – Lumberjack Presses
  • Lower Body – Deadlifts
  • Biceps – DB Hammer Curls
  • Triceps – Overhead DB Extension (great video instruction of this exercise)

Nothing glamorous but it was a good 45 minute session.  I picked exercises that I enjoy & had fun with the workout.

I like having a Total Body workout in the rotation.  The Upper & Lower body split routines I have been following are great, don’t get me wrong.  But a little variety in the weight room is a good thing.

Speaking of variety in the weight room, I am about ready to embark on the next Phase of this transformation contest period.

I have 5 weeks left in this 90 day contest period.  I’ve been busy today planning out my next training block & looking over meal plans.

I have decided this month that I will most likely be utilizing some Density Training workouts along with HIIT Cardio.  

I made this decision for a few reasons:

  • Density Training is a great training method for fat burning while still adding some muscle during the training cycle
  • Density Training, while definitely structured, is not as rigid as the classic 3 Sets/10 Reps per Set method of training & so forth
  • HIIT is a great fat burning form of cardio that burns more fat in less time than steady-paced, slow-go cardio
  • I utilized a combination of Density Training & HIIT while working with my personal trainer last summer.  I had great results with the combination.

My goals over the next 5 weeks are two-fold:

  1. Add as much muscle as I possibly can over the next 35 days
  2. Cut the last few pounds of fat from my abdominal area

I believe that my training methods & goals are in harmony with one another & I fully expect to emerge from this 90 Day transformation contest in phenomenal shape.  I truly expect to come out of this a winner.

Today’s Workout Track Listing:

  • Lieder – Eisbrecher
  • The Last in Line – Dio
  • Hey Ladies – Beastie Boys
  • Girls, Girls, Girls – Motley Crue
  • The Dope Show – Marilyn Manson
  • Whiskey In The Jar – Metallica
  • Lucretia – Megadeth
  • You’re Crazy – Guns N’ Roses
  • Junkhead – Alice In Chains

 

Leave a Reply

