Day 61 – That Hit A Nerve

Today is an off day from the weight room.  I will get in a yoga session prior to bed but that’s about as far as I will go today with exercise.

I don’t really have anything fitness related to discuss today.  Don’t worry, I will be talking fitness plenty over the next few weeks.

I’d rather discuss something that elicited an emotional response from me earlier today.

It all started with a Facebook post.  The post was on a page that is affiliated with the Tea Party.  I mention this only for the purposes of context.  I’m not here to discuss the merits of the Tea Party or any political party for that matter.

The post featured the picture of a man who had facial/neck tattoos, facial piercings & stretched ear lobes & nostrils.

This was below the picture:

  • The Bible says “your body is your temple and a gift from God” so therefore “honor your body”.  I wonder how this poor soul views his body?

I will admit, the picture was definitely an attention grabber.  It was also an extreme case of facial tattooing & piercing.  The picture was obviously chosen to stir up a bunch of shit.  That or help a bunch of sad individuals feel better about themselves for a few minutes.

There were over 20,000 comments on this post at the time I viewed it.  A large majority of the comments I read were rather derogatory, hateful, judgmental & flat-out wrong.  After reading a few of the comments, I noticed I was getting a bit angry.  I read a few more & the anger level rose even higher.  After a few more comments I was on fire.

What a bunch of self-righteous, small-minded people!  That isn’t a judgement, it is the truth.

Lack of tolerance for that which isn’t normal or what one doesn’t completely understand is a sign of an underdeveloped mind.

Why did I take such offense to the things these people were saying??

 

For those who don’t know, I have a few tattoos.  When I hear others judging people with tattoos, I tend to get a bit defensive.  The stuff that people were saying on Facebook about the tattooed guy could have easily been said about me.  That bothers me.

Don’t get me wrong, I really don’t care what others say about me.  Whatever problem they have with me is their problem, not mine.

No, what bothered me is that complete strangers were so quick to judge & make baseless accusations about someone they didn’t even know.  “Adults” acting like petulant little smart asses over how someone else looks.  Really?

Screen shot 2013-01-11 at 9.12.17 PM

 

See the guy above with the tattoos?  That’s me.

Here’s some interesting facts:

  • I’m a college graduate.
  • I’m a husband, father, son, grandson, nephew, uncle & cousin.
  • I work as an Accountant for the Illinois Department of Natural Resources & am responsible for the proper accounting of nearly $60 Million.
  • I am held in high-esteem by my co-workers for the quality of my work, work ethic & the positive attitude I bring to the table.
  • I live in a nice subdivision & am a good neighbor, among other things.
  • I’m not perfect but I’m not a “bad” person by any means.

I say these things not to brag but to make a point.  My tattoos have NO EFFECT WHATSOEVER on my abilities to be the things I listed above.

Yet, there are many, many people out there who wouldn’t take the time to find these things out about me if they saw my tattoos.  They would immediately judge/condemn & write me off as a worthless piece of trash.  What a pity.  Maybe I was put in their path to teach them about health & fitness?  They will never know since they shunned me for no good reason.

What biases & prejudices do you carry around within you?  I know I have some.  Obviously, I have some mental development to work on.  But after today, I think it will be easier to flush those thoughts out of my mind.

Who have I unfairly judged in the past & for what reason(s)?  How can I learn from that & avoid repeating the same behavior in the future?  I’m not sure of the answers to those questions but you can bet I will figure them out.

One thing I do know, when you judge & condemn, it sets you up to be judged & condemned.  You reap what you sow.  Some call it Karma, others the Law of the Harvest.

Regardless of what you call it, know that it is an immutable natural law.  Plant corn, corn will grow.  Plant beans, beans will sprout.  Plant seeds of judgement & watch what you get in return.

Leave a Reply

