Day 64 – A Slice of Humble Pie

Today, I completed Session A of the Beginner Program from Jason Ferruggia’s “Muscle Gaining Secrets 2.0” program.

Why the Beginner Program instead of the regular 12-week program you ask?

There are a few reasons for this:

  • Jason recommends that those with less than 1 year of training experience start with the beginner program.  I fall into that category.
  • There a few exercises that are the foundation of the main 12-week program.  The beginner program calls for performing these exercises twice a week.  The increased exposure shortens the learning curve & speeds up mastering these lifts.
  • I have roughly 4 weeks left in this contest period so this is a good time to begin transitioning to a new 90 training block.  Plus, there’s a good chance I will add a little bit of mass over the next 4 weeks.

Although I really enjoyed the 8 weeks that I put in with Craig Ballantyne’s Turbulence Training Program, I was feeling the urge to change things up.  I used the last week to try out a few lifting routines I designed.  If you’ve been following my blog, you know that I was rather critical of most of the sessions I designed.  These lifting routines were what I intended to perform over the final 4-5 weeks of the Early To Rise body transformation contest.

I’m no personal trainer but I have a decent amount of knowledge when it comes to weight lifting (or so I thought).  But the majority of the routines I designed sucked.  Too many isolation exercises, not enough heavy compound lifts & a few other things meant that following these routines would have done very little to help me gain mass.

Once I faced the reality that my routines weren’t the best, I decided I had better find some that were & quickly.  No need to panic but there wasn’t much time to jack around, either.  Time to put the ego away.

I had noticed over the past few weeks that during his Facebook Q/A sessions, Craig had been asked on numerous occasions different variations of the same question.  Basically, skinny guys were asking him the best way to pack on a decent amount of mass in the shortest time possible.  Craig’s response in nearly every instance was the same thing:

Screen shot 2013-03-11 at 5.44.42 PM

Jason Ferruggia’s Muscle Gaining Secrets 2.0 Program

Although I am no longer “skinny fat”, I’m not the “biggest” guy, either.  So, when someone like Craig recommends a program that can add mass in a relatively short time, I pay attention.  The fact that Craig recommended a program by someone other than himself also speaks volumes about the value of that program.

So, I put my ego aside & ordered the program.  I read through it at least 3 times yesterday.  I picked up A LOT of good information.  I also created my training logs when I finished up my reading.  I studied over them during my lunch break today.  During this time I visualized myself coming home & putting in a great effort in the weight room tonight.

Guess what?  I had an absolutely AWESOME lifting session tonight!!!  Best session I’ve had in over a week.

Started off with Incline Barbell Bench Press:

Next up was Military Barbell Press:

press

After that I made a slight modification to the session for the next exercise.  The program called for One Arm DB Rows.  I substituted Overhand Grip Inverted Rows in its place. I did this because I don’t have a dumbbell heavy enough that would have allowed me to stay within the recommended rep range (I can lift it more than the 6-8 recommended reps).

After this I finished up with good old Pull Ups:

Nothing fancy but very effective.  I really liked this training session!

Over the next 4 weeks, my intention is to put forth my best effort in the weight room.  Upon completing the 4 week beginner portion of the program, I will move onto the 12 week main program.  Although my contest period will have concluded by then, I will still be blogging about my experience with the MGS 2.0 Program.

Today’s Training Session Track List:

  • Lord of This World – Corrosion of Conformity
  • Dissident Aggressor – Slayer
  • The Mob Rules – Black Sabbath
  • South of Heaven – Slayer
  • Nightmare/The Dream Time – Motorhead
  • A New Level – Pantera
  • Orion – Rodrigo y Gabriela
  • Helter Skelter – The Beatles
  • Raining Blood – Slayer

4 thoughts on “Day 64 – A Slice of Humble Pie

  1. MSG has been great for me! This is my second cycle doing it. If you follow the program and get your rest in then it will get you stronger. As I advance deeper in the program I have some pretty intense sessions that just blow me away. I have taken an extra day off on many an occasion because I needed more rest! I am coming to the end of this cycle this month and I will take a week or two off then switch to a 4 day split routine. Then come September I’m right back to MSG for a 3 cycle.
    Good tunes too!

    • That is fantastic! I’m glad to hear that you’ve had success with the program. I’m going to give it my all & let the chips fall where they may. My iPod was apparently on a Slayer kick this evening!! I like the hard stuff when I step into the weight room.

  2. “Nothing fancy but very effective”…the basics are, and always will be, the best ways. I like your alternative for rows. I do “power rows” with a barbell. Load up the weight, strap up and only slightly bend over. It’s a great move to row a lot of weight and overload the back. Anyway, thanks for stopping by my blog!

Leave a Reply

