Day 66 – Why Do You Run The Race?

Today is a scheduled day off from weight lifting.  That doesn’t mean I didn’t get anything accomplished towards achieving my fitness goals, though.

I got in a 20 minute Variable Intensity Interval Training session on the gazelle glider.

IMG_20130127_110028

 

Variable Intensity Intervals (VIIT) are not quite as intense as High Intensity Intervals but can still be an effective fat burning method.  Considering that my legs were a bit tender from yesterday’s training session, I didn’t want to trash them again by pushing too hard on the gazelle.  But, I do need to begin trimming down a little bit of abdominal fat if I expect to have a realistic chance of winning this body transformation contest.

My VIIT session this evening consisted of 30-60 second segments of varying intensity.  On an intensity scale of 1-10, I worked within a 3-8 range.  3 being a slower, steady pace & 8 being a rapid pace (not a full on sprint, that’s a 10).

Normally, in a mass building cycle, excessive cardiovascular training is frowned upon.  The thought behind this is that while doing cardio you’re eating away at the caloric surplus needed to gain mass.  But as I said above, I have to get my abdominal area tightened up a bit.

Time to put on my thinking cap & figure out how to proceed…..

My plan for the next 3 1/2 weeks goes something like this:

  • Weight training in accordance with Jason Ferruggia’s Muscle Gaining Secrets 2.0 Beginner Program.  This will have me in the weight room Monday, Tuesday, Thursday & Saturday.  YES!  
  • VIIT session this coming Friday.
  • HIIT sessions Wednesday & Friday for the last 3 weeks of my 90 day contest period.
  • Slightly reduced caloric intake on Wednesday, Friday & Sundays.  Reduction in calories will be mostly from restricting starchy carbs & instead eating only green veggies for carbs.  Protein & fat intake will remain relatively the same from day-to-day.
  • Rolling out my 2 “secret weapons” I used to get into photo-ready shape last fall.  I would love to tell what these 2 things are but I’m going to keep them secret for a while.

The race is on & the finish line is getting closer.  This is when the winners separate themselves from the pack.

Reminds me of my younger days when I participated in athletics.  Especially when I was a hurdler in track.

As the starter called us into position, I would dig into the blocks & set my focus on nothing but the finish line.

Sure, I knew there were hurdles in the way but that didn’t matter.  I knew how many steps to take between each hurdle so even during the race I very rarely took my eyes off the finish line.

Many times, the race was close when we all left the starting blocks.

After the first few hurdles a few of us would begin to separate from the rest of the pack.

After a few more hurdles it was usually myself, my teammate John & maybe one other runner that had a shot at winning the race.

By this time, the last hurdle was all that stood between me & victory.  That’s when I would dig down deep & give it my all.  As the finish line got closer in sight, the harder I ran.

I didn’t win every race but I won the vast majority of them.  The thrill of victory tastes sweet.

But even in the few instances when I didn’t win, I walked off the track knowing I had given my best effort.  I can handle someone else’s best effort being better than mine.  There is no shame in coming up a bit short on occasion, provided you’ve run the race to the best of your ability.

Sometimes in life, the “winner” doesn’t always get a blue ribbon.  But that doesn’t mean it isn’t worth the effort.

Regardless of whether or not I am deemed a “winner” in this body transformation contest is really immaterial.  Sure, the cash prize & recognition would be great.  But that’s not what I am really after.

I entered this contest so that at the end of 90 days, I could look at myself in the mirror & honestly say that I gave it my all.  I AM going to be able to do that in a few weeks.  That’s the prize I am after.

I hope that the hurdling analogy sparks something inside of you that helps you push on when things get tough.  Keep your eyes on the finish line.  Be aware of the hurdles in your path but don’t focus on them.  Size them up, spring over them & race towards the finish line.

You can do this!  You are all you need!  No go out there & get to it!!!!

7 thoughts on “Day 66 – Why Do You Run The Race?

      • I don’t think the P90X version is intense enough. Have you tried Tabata before? If done right, it’s the hardest 4 minutes of your life and the result is an elevated HR for 24-36 hours after. Which means you are a fat burning machine.

      • Get the Tabata app for the timer. It’s very basic. 20 seconds of balls to the walls, 10 sec rest, then repeat 7 more times. Seems easy, right? Lol. You can do Tabata any way you like. Treadmill sprints or elliptical sprints, squats, heavy bag, burpees etc.

        You seem like a guy that won’t take short cuts. So try it once and give each cycle 110% effort and tell me how it was compared to some other programs you have tried. Shit, it’s only four minutes…try it now.

      • Got the timer app downloaded & will be utilizing it on Friday for my cardio session. Will definitely let you know how it goes. Thanks a million for the recommendation! I appreciate it.

      • Awesome! I hope you continued success and I think you will “hate” me after Friday. In a good way, that is.

        My Tabata goes like this: squat, burpees, mountain climbers, skip or run in place…then repeat. However, I switched over to boxing not too long ago and my heart rate is 10 beats higher, on average over anything I do. So I will keep hitting the heavy bag for now. I tried treadmill sprints once….once! Made it half way thru. It was too difficult. Thought i was going to die. Imagine sprinting as hard as you can for….say 150 yards. Then doing it again 7 times. It’s tough stuff.

Leave a Reply

