Day 67 – Current Circumstances Aren’t Permanent

Today, I completed Session C of the Beginner Program from Jason Ferruggia’s “Muscle Gaining Secrets 2.0″ program.  This is an Upper Body Dominant weight training session.

This training session was very similar to Monday’s session: Incline Barbell Bench Presses, Military Presses, Pull Ups & Inverted Bodyweight Rows.

I performed 1 fewer set of each exercise & I also used a slightly lower weight.  I did increase the rep count for each set this session though.  This was done in accordance with the program guidelines.

I had to resist the urge to substitute in the Lumberjack Press for the Military Press:

I thoroughly enjoy the Lumberjack Press but figured I should give this program an honest effort & not tinker with it too much.  Plus, I have already modified the program somewhat by substituting Inverted Rows for One-Arm Dumbbell Rows.  I did this because my dumbbells only go to 52.5 pounds & I can exceed the desired rep ranges using this weight.

IMG_20130108_202708

 

I probably should have sprung for the Bowflex 1090’s instead of the 525’s but it’s ok.  Inverted rows are an ass kicker so I will stick with them.

I don’t really have much more to add in regards to my training session today.  Plus, I have a few things I would like to get done this evening so I am going to get busy with those activities shortly.

I would like to leave you with a thought to ponder:

Your present circumstances don’t determine where you are going, they only determine where you are starting from.

Keep that in mind the next time you think it isn’t possible for you to get into shape.  Your present circumstances are merely a starting point.  They aren’t a be-all, end-all.

Look at these folks:

older-people-exercising6001

 

They haven’t let their current circumstance of being elderly keep them from exercising.  If they can do it, what is stopping you?

Today’s Training Session Track Listing:

  • Brother Go On – Black Water Rising
  • Du Hast – Rammstein
  • Vasoline – Stone Temple Pilots
  • Du Oder Ich – Megaherz
  • War Pigs – Black Sabbath
  • Disposable Heroes – Metallica
  • Electric Eye – Judas Priest
  • Take the Power Back – Rage Against the Machine
  • Sabbra Cadabra – Metallica

Leave a Reply

