Day 70 – Mirror Mirror On The Wall

Today is an off day from the weight room.

Although I will not be lifting weights today, I plan on getting in a Tabata session a bit later this afternoon.  Tabata training was recently introduced to me by a reader of my blog (thanks Doug!).

I will be utilizing Tabata sessions over the next few weeks as I attempt to trim the last few pounds of abdominal fat that I currently have.  I will be sharing my experience with this training style over the next few weeks.

Also on the agenda for today will be working on meal plans & getting exercise logs ready for the upcoming week.

Monday marks Week 2 of the Beginner Program from Jason Ferruggia’s “Muscle Gaining Secrets 2.0″ program.  I am looking forward to it!

With today being Sunday it is weigh in day.  My weigh in this morning was good; I dropped another 1/2 pound of fat this week while not losing any muscle.  That’s progress & I can live with it.  Nothing major but it is still a form of progress.

Speaking of progress, I seem to have stalled a bit in terms of muscle mass gains. Honestly, I’m not bothered by it.  I’ve gained nearly 8 pounds of muscle over the last 8 weeks so I’m happy with that.  Nothing record-setting but so what?  I will be 39 in a few weeks & I look better now than I did at 29 or 19 for that matter!

Here’s a current progress pic:

My hot ass body on March 17, 2013

As you can see, I have some work ahead of me the next 3 weeks.  Specifically in the lower abdominal area.  That is my “trouble area”.  It always has been.

Granted, I’m not doing too poorly so I’m not freaking out.  But, I know I have a tighter core that is currently hiding under a little bit of fat.  That is somewhat by design though.

You might be asking yourself, what do you mean “by design”?  Why would you purposefully be carrying additional body fat?

For the last few weeks, I’ve been eating excessive amounts of calories on most days.  I have also limited my cardiovascular work the last 8-9 weeks.  I did this in an effort to put on muscle mass & I’ve been successful in that endeavor.  Not as successful as I had hoped but successful nonetheless.

I knew that I would also add a few pounds of fat in the process.  I accepted that reality when I began this contest period.  I have purposefully “ignored” fat burning to a large degree up until now.

Don’t get me wrong, I have done ab/core work over the last 2 months.  But I haven’t made it a big priority.  Nor have I made “carved abs” a major priority in terms of nutrition.  I haven’t eaten 100% lean & clean at all times.

But that is about to change.

Now it is time to get shredded & I have a plan.  It worked for me in October of 2012 & got me into photo ready shape then.  It will work for me now.  I just have to follow through & stay on target!

My goal is to make it very, very difficult for those who are judging the contest/picking the winners not to choose me as a top finisher.

When this 90 day contest period expires, my intention is to have some great “After” pictures.  Will they be good enough to help me win the contest?  I’d like to think so but who knows?

I do know this much, the sustained effort I will give over the next 3 weeks will be nothing short of my best.

Leave a Reply

