Day 77 – That’s Real Funny…

Today is an off day from the weight room.

2 weeks to go before my “After” pictures need to be taken; this will probably be the last “off” day for the next few weeks.

2 more weeks

Today’s weigh-in was interesting.  I was up 2.4 pounds from last week.  The majority was muscle gain but a little bit was fat.  I found this funny considering I shifted to more a fat burning mode this week.  My scale is a real comedian!!

Here are a few of the changes I have incorporated:

  • I ate less food this week when compared to previous weeks.  I kept my caloric intake fairly steady on weight-lifting days.  On non-lifting days, I reduced my caloric intake by around 500+ calories.  I also limited my carbs to green veggies only on these days.
  • I added in Tabata-style cardio sessions this week.  Short sessions post weight-lifting, longer sessions on non-lifting days.
  • I even added in a fat-burning supplement that I used in the past to get “photo-ready”.

Despite my best efforts, I somehow managed to add a decent amount of weight this week. I’m not complaining about the muscle gain.  The little bit of fat gain is a bit problematic.  I am attempting to get shredded for my final pictures.  Now is not the time to be adding ANY additional fat!

So now I’m left scratching my head wondering what exactly happened this week.  How did I gain weight when I was attempting to do the opposite?

No need to worry about it.  I know I’m on the right path.  This is just a slight bump in the road.

The plan is to give the next 2 weeks the best effort I can possibly muster.  Will it be enough to put me over the top & into contention for the top prize?  I’d like to think so but I really don’t know.  If my transformation is deemed worthy of winning a prize, so be it.  If it isn’t, it isn’t.

My guess is that there are a number of contestants who will have similar, if not better, body transformations.  That’s the reality of the situation.  I’ve participated in these types of endeavors in the past & came up short each time.  But that didn’t deter me from getting involved in this contest.  If anything, it inspired me to get involved in this contest.

Should I not be deemed a “contest winner”, so what?  In the last 11 weeks, I have done the following:

  • Gained muscle & burned fat – Hello??  That’s progress baby!
  • Created over 80 blog posts (with plenty more to come) – I’d like to be an author someday.  Blogging has helped me begin to find my writing “voice” & hone my writing skills.
  • Helped friends & family get on track with their fitness – Talk about rewarding!
  • Inspired others to take their fitness goals seriously – Once again, very rewarding!
  • Regained my self-confidence – This has bled over from the weight room & into nearly every other area of my life.  I have experienced some very big victories on a personal & professional level recently.  I attribute those victories to the self-confidence I now possess.
  • Rediscovered the joys of discipline – Ok, this one sounds weird at first.  Discipline being joyful?  Yep.  Here’s an example:  Each time I have the discipline to pass up a donut at work gives me the immediate gratification of knowing I did the right thing.  That, in turn, makes is easier to turn the donut down again later in the day.  When I get into the weight room, I don’t have to work an extra 5-10 minutes to burn off the donut that I could’ve eaten.  More importantly, I don’t have the guilt associated with eating something that won’t help me achieve my goal.  Sure, I goof up every now & then but for the most part I am able to maintain my discipline when it comes to situations like this.
  • Look better & feel better – Gotta love that!
  • Many other benefits I haven’t even realized yet

So you see, even if I am not deemed a “contest winner”, it doesn’t mean that my efforts have been in vain.  Not by a long shot.

In the last 11 weeks, I have formed the habits necessary to sustain a healthy, happy life.  Even better is having been able to help others do the same.  What prize could be better than that??

2 weeks from today I will be posting my last transformation contest update……  The countdown has begun…..

images-2

 

Leave a Reply

