Day 78 – Snow Day!

Today was supposed to be a lifting day.  Things did not go as planned though.  Last evening, I spent over 2 hours shoveling snow from our driveway.  I put in another couple of hours this morning clearing the driveway & back deck.  In all, we got about 18 inches of snow.

IMG_20130325_094901_079

 

IMG_20130325_113556_889

I got in a decent amount of weight lifting in the last 24 hours so I didn’t feel guilty taking the day “off”.  I did hundreds of squats & deadlifts when you consider how much snow I moved!

Besides, my lifting schedule can be modified to allow for 4 weight lifting sessions over the next 6 days so I’m not worried about “missing” as lifting session today.

Yes, I could have completed my scheduled lifting session today but at what cost?

I was already a little sore when I woke up this morning.  I was also fatigued after the shoveling session from this morning.  Had I attempted to get in a 45 minute lifting session, the results most likely would have been less than stellar.  I figured I would be doing myself more harm than good if I lifted weights so I followed my own advice & left the weights alone.

One thing I am thankful for is having the strength & stamina to be able to perform snow removal.  At one time I would have had trouble getting the job done.  Not any longer.

4 thoughts on “Day 78 – Snow Day!

Leave a Reply

