Day 79 – Round 3

Today was a scheduled lifting day.  I was supposed to complete Session A, Beginner Program from Jason Ferruggia’s “Muscle Gaining Secrets 2.0”.    

However, when I arrived home, I remembered that the sidewalks around my house needed shoveled.  Why not make it 3 days in a row?

So, I grabbed the shovel & spent the next 1/2 hour moving a pretty good amount of snow.  By the time I was done, I was sweating something fierce!

I was also feeling rather fatigued.  Just as fatigued as if I had been working in the weight room, if not more.  I really didn’t want to scrap tonight’s lifting session but I didn’t see much of a point in even attempting it.  Here’s why:

  • My legs are more worn out than normal.
  • My back is a bit tender.
  • My arms & shoulders have a little more ache to them than normal.

I figure I can avoid injury if I give myself a little extra recovery time.  At any rate, I’ve logged in about 5-6 hours worth of shoveling over the last 48 hours so I think I’ve done plenty in terms of physical activity!

However, I’m less than 2 weeks away from taking my final pictures for this contest so I would rather have been in the weight room the last few days.  The last few days of my contest period are already goofed up due to a prior commitment so I really only have 9 “quality” days left to get in the best shape possible.

I’m beginning to think that the light at the end of the tunnel is a freight train heading my way.

Unknown-4

I’m starting to wonder about my chances of winning the 90 Day Early to Rise Transformation contest.  My mindset for the last 79 days has been Winner, Winner, Winner.

However, the 6-week mini-contest finalists were announced today & I didn’t make the cut in the Health category.  After reading the essays selected for the contest, I’m not sure where I went wrong with my submission.

I’m not taking anything away from the finalists; they are to be commended for their efforts & results.  However, I thought I did a very good job of presenting my 6 week progress.  If losing a few pounds of fat, gaining 6 pounds of muscle, starting a blog & helping others begin their fitness journey in the first 6 weeks wasn’t good enough then I guess it wasn’t good enough.

I hope I am not coming off like a whiner but I’m puzzled by the fact that I wasn’t selected as a finalist for the 6 week mini-contest.

Now I wonder if I even have a shot at the finals?

My fear is that the winners of the health category are going to be like the contestants from NBC’s “The Biggest Loser”.  I don’t watch the show but I’ve noticed a common theme: The winners start off as obese individuals that experience a significant weight loss.

However, I don’t fall into that category.  The “heaviest” I have even been is around 170 pounds at 20% body fat.  Right now I tend to weigh in the mid/upper 150’s at 7-8% body fat.

While most people are attempting to “lose weight”, I am attempting to gain muscle mass.  This is a very difficult task for me for a number of reasons:

  • I’m not a big eater.  Getting down close to 3,000 clean calories on lifting days is a chore.  Sure, I could get 3000 calories in by eating fast food but why would I do that?
  • I’ve never really been a big guy – blame it on genetics.
  • My age (39 on Saturday-where has the time gone??) isn’t helping things either.

But you know what, I won’t let these things stop me from pushing on.  Nope.  I will keep plugging away.  I’m a winner & winners don’t quit.  Ever.

You know what else?  No one can ever take this away from me:

Front View April 2012-Nov2012

 

cropped-rear-flex-may-nov-with-date.png

 

I busted my ass in the weight room, ate well & transformed myself inside & out in 6 months. I earned that body & did things I never thought possible.  Unfortunately, my transformation wasn’t good enough for inclusion in my personal trainer’s soon to be released book. Although I wasn’t a “winner” I still came away from the experience a better person.

It is beginning to feel like this contest is going to end up the same way.  If it does, it does.  I’m still going to walk away from the contest a better person than when I started.

Anyway, I’m going to step away from the keyboard & take some time to process the fact that my best efforts have fallen short for the time being.  I will admit to be a bit disappointed when I first realized I wasn’t a 6-week contest finalist.

But, it isn’t what happens to us in life that defines us, it is what we do in response to what happens that does.

So, I congratulate the 6 week contest finalists.  It takes guts to step outside your comfort zone & go after a goal.  It takes even more guts to put it out there for strangers.  I really do commend them for their efforts & results.

With that being said, they need to keep it up & had better not slack.  I intend to put forth the best effort I can muster for the remainder of my contest period.  I am locked in.

Maybe I won’t win the contest.  The light at the end of the tunnel may be a freight train heading my way.  But that train won’t run me over.  I’m too strong for that.  Knock me down, I’ll just get back up again.  I’ll wipe away the dust & tears & will be right back after it again in no time.  Because you see, it isn’t what happens to me that defines who I am, it is how I respond to it that defines me.  My response reveals my true character.  I feel pretty good about that.

 

3 thoughts on “Day 79 – Round 3

  1. I had a similar response when I wasn’t chosen. I’m not sure what criteria were used, nor whether I can even be considered if I am _not_ a 6-week finalist. Like you, I will not quit, even though I had some frustration to do just that.

    Just wanted you to know you have some company out here!

    Your transformation is quite amazing!! I’m going to go back and see what your workouts are like. I bet you’ll be in the next book your trainer puts out!

    • Thank you, thank you, thank you! It was a bit deflating at first. Now I am motivated to give an even better effort. Glad to hear that you didn’t let the frustration get you down for too long. Keep at it!

  2. Pingback: Day 80 – That’s More Like It! | Jason's Body Transformation

Leave a Reply

