Day 86 – It’s The Journey….

Today is an off day from the weight room.  I did get in a nice 20 minute walk/jog with my dog after work.

My plan for the rest of the week is to lift weights on Wednesday & Friday.  I must take my “After” pictures no later than Sunday morning so this schedule will allow me to get in a few more lifting sessions prior to the photo session.  After 12 weeks of hard lifting, I’m using this 13th week as more of a working recovery week.  No need to push too hard before tackling another 12 week training block.

My hope is that my “After” pictures are much better than my “Before” pictures.  They will be better but by how much?  Will it be enough to earn me a spot as a finalist?  I would like to believe so but I honestly do not know.

In the last week or so, I’ve come to realize that my foray into this contest was never about the prizes or the recognition.  My focus shifted towards those things for a bit & I lost sight of the real reason(s) I entered this contest:

  • Establish a healthier lifestyle, both in & out of the weight room.
  • Inspire others to begin their own journey fitness journey.
  • To set a goal, achieve the goal & become more disciplined as a result.

There are a few more reasons that I haven’t included because, well, they are private.  Rest assured, these reasons are pure in nature & are in harmony with the reasons listed above.

When my focus shifted to “winning the money”, my participation in this contest was no longer fun.  It became laborious.  I had put an insane amount of pressure on myself & everything had to be perfect.  I became overly critical of my efforts on a number of instances.

In short, I forgot that it’s the journey that makes the ride to the destination worth the effort.

Now that I have firmly set my focus on the real reasons I entered this contest, I better understand this concept.  I am also able to see that I have, in fact, nailed my goals:

  • I have established much better eating, exercise & rest habits.  I’m not all the way there yet but I am really close to having those 3 things dialed in tight.  When I begin the main portion of Jason Ferruggia’s “Muscle Gaining Secrets 2.0” on Monday, I will be primed & ready to go.  The habits I have developed over the last 86 days will go far in helping me achieve my #1 fitness goal.
  • I have inspired others to begin their own fitness journey.  Through this blog, my Facebook page & the ETR Progress Journal, I have been able to reach out to a number of people looking for fitness information & motivation.  I’ve been fortunate enough to have been an inspiration to a number of family, friends & even a few folks I’ve never met face to face.  I can honestly say that reaching out to others & knowing I’ve had a positive impact on them has been more rewarding than anything else related to this contest.  Talk about warming the heart/soul!
  • I’m really close to having achieved the goal I set when I started this 90 day transformation period.  The reality of the situation is that I am probably going to come up just a bit short of the weight/body fat % I set out to achieve.  I’m cool with that.  I have the rest of my life to work towards my fitness goals.  The main thing is to just keep working at my goals.

I’ve also achieved one of those “private” goals that is the least pure of them all.  It’s kind of egocentric but it was/is a good motivator.  I will share this “private” goal with everyone:

When people see my “After” photos, I would like for them to think that I don’t look like the stereotypical 39-year-old accountant!  The image that many people have of an accountant is this:

Unknown-5

 

Not this:

11:1:12 Front

 

Although this picture is from last fall, I’m looking about the same, if not a little better right now so I can honestly say I’ve nailed this particular goal.

So, the contest period is almost over & I’m feeling good about the accomplishments of the last few months.  Maybe I win, maybe I don’t.  It doesn’t matter.  What matters is the journey.  The destination is really just a stopping point for the next journey.  I’ve already begun mapping my next fitness journey.  I’m looking forward to the ride!

Leave a Reply

